Home Uncategorized Neil Young Announces Massive ‘The Archives Vol. II: 1972-1976′ Box Set With...

Neil Young Announces Massive ‘The Archives Vol. II: 1972-1976′ Box Set With Rarities, Live Album

Neil Young has announced that The Archives Vol. II: 1972-1976 box set will be released on Nov. 20. The 10-disc collection will include a vintage live album recorded in London and Japan with all previously unheard versions of classic songs.

The sequel to the 8-disc 2009 The Archives Vol. 1: 1963-1972 will have several unreleased recordings from the era, when Young released the Time Fades Away, Tonight’s the Night and Zuma albums.

Arranged chronologically, it will stretch from songs tracked after the 1972 release of landmark album Harvest, stretching through an early 1976 European/Japanese tour with his longtime band Crazy Horse. According to the Neil Young Archives site, the set — with 12 previously unreleased songs and 50 unreleased versions of songs — will be available only on NYA, with pre-orders beginning on Oct. 16.

The first disc, Everybody’s Alone, opens with the previously unreleased “Letter From ‘Nam,” and includes the unheard “Come Along and Say You Will,” “Goodbye Christmas on the Shore,” “Sweet Joni”  and unreleased versions of “Monday Morning,” “The Bridge,” “Time Fades Away,” “The Loner” and “L.A.”

Disc 3, Tonight’s the Night, includes the previously unheard Joni Mitchell song “Raised on Robbery,” unheard versions of “Speakin’ Out Jam” and Everybody’s Alone,” with Disc 5, Walk On, offering up an unreleased “Greensleeves” and unheard versions of “Bad Fog Of Loneliness” and “Traces.”

Disc 6, The Old Homestead, is rife with rarities, including the unheard “Homefires,” “Frozen Man” and “Daughters,” as well as unreleased versions of “Through My Sails,” “Pardon My Heart,” “Hawaiian Sunrise,” “Pushed It Over the End,” “On the Beach,” “Vacancy,” “One More Sign,” “Give Me Strength,” “Bad News Comes to Town,” “Changing Highways” and two versions of “Love/Art Blues.”

The final album, Odeon Budokan, is a live recording from London and Tokyo with a new Crazy Horse lineup, with all previously unreleased live versions of such classics as “After the Gold Rush,” “Old Man,” “Don’t Cry No Tears,” “Cowgirl in the Sand,” “Lotta Love” and “Cortez the Killer.”

Young has been very active during this election year, recently suing Pres. Trump’s campaign for copyright infringement over the use of his song “Rockin’ in the Free World” at rallies and finally releasing one of the most sought-after unreleased albums in his prolific career, Homegrown, in June 46 years after it was recorded.

Check out the full track listing for Archives Vol. II here.

Must Read

See Which Stars Are Joining Will Smith’s #BigWillieChallenge Fitness Journey

Will Smith showed “the body that carried me through an entire pandemic” on Instagram, encouraging A-listers like Dr. Dre to do the same as motivation to...

Brothers Osborne, Kristin Chenoweth Set to Headline Ty Herndon’s Concert for Love & Acceptance

Brothers Osborne, Kristin Chenoweth, Terri Clark and Tenille Townes are among the artists who will appear during the 2021 Concert for Love & Acceptance,...

Here Are the Lyrics to The Weeknd & Ariana Grande’s ‘Save Your Tears’ Remix

The Weeknd and Ariana Grande’s fans had no tears left to cry when their favorite artists reunited for the Billboard Hot 100-topping “Save Your...

Tencent Music Reports Steady Q1 as China’s Streaming Market Grows

Tencent Music Entertainment rode China’s booming music market to a 24% gain in revenues from January to March, the company announced in its first...

NERVO Is Remaking Its Unreleased Avicii Collab Without ‘Tim’s Chords or Parts’

Liv Nervo, one half of the NERVO sisters, recently revealed in an interview that the Australian duo was in motion to complete a decade-old Avicii...